Visa Regulations

Who does not need a visa

Citizens of all countries of the European Union, Switzerland, Croatia, Israel, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, most of the countries of North and South America and some other countries do not need a visa, only a valid passport is required to enter Austria. In case of doubt please contact the Austrian Consulate or Embassy well in advance before departure.

Visa-free travel is allowed with a biometric passport for citizens from the following countries: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia.

Who needs a visa

Travellers requiring a visa can travel freely throughout the Schengen zone for three months with a Schengen visa issued by any Schengen country. Obtaining a visa entitling you to visit one Schengen country automatically entitles you to travel to and from all the other Schengen countries too.

Further information about visa regulations and Schengen visas can be found on the website of the Federal Ministry for European and International Affairs.

Current member countries of the Schengen treaty are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

For further information please visit the <u>website of the Federal Ministry for European</u> and International Affairs.